Translation
French English Spanish basque Japanese
Best price guaranteed
Book Now
Hotel
Restaurant

Much more than a Hotel ...

Arraya has a soul: she sees herself, she feels, she lives!

A Basque house

Built in the 16th century on the village square of Sare, Arraya is a former Compostela relay transformed into a charming hotel since 1951.
It has been run by the Fagoaga family for 3 generations.
Formed of three very old houses grouped around a garden which escapes the glances, Arraya occupies the center of Sare, one of the most beautiful villages of the Basque Country.
From the entrance, beautiful lounges and a charming dining room display a charm that owes a lot to the patina of the furniture and the brilliance of the bouquets of flowers in the garden.

Book Now
Basque painting
Rear garden of the Arraya hotel

A green setting

Arraya is located in the center of Sare, a small village surrounded by mountains and nature. We also find this presence of nature in the heart of the hotel which has its little green setting that escapes all eyes: an English garden

Composed of beautiful beds in which we find different varieties of shrubs: pittosporum forest blue, rincospernum, agapanthus, pittosporum naims and other barberis, you will be guided by the oak and slate staircase to access it.

Book Now

Lovers of fragrances, you will be won over by the subtle scent of star jasmine which covers its beautiful garden terraces when it is in bloom. On the balconies, it's the Virginia creeper that makes its show!

In Arraya, nature follows the rhythm of the seasons, blooming in time arums, dahlias and nearly 200 feet of Queen Elisabeth roses… from spring to autumn.

The garden was the project of a lifetime for Paul and Louise. Passionate about plants and flowers, Louise transmitted all her love and her know-how to Laurence, who takes care to perpetuate the tradition by composing every day magnificent bouquets of fresh flowers that perfume the living room and the dining room of the hotel.

A family story

In the Basque Country, a house cannot be appropriated ... it is passed on from one generation to the next and it is in this spirit that the Fagoaga welcome you to their home in Arraya, sharing their love with you. for their home.

Arraya's adventure begins with the story of a brother and sister, Paul and Louise. With the help of their parents, they transform their modest house into a tea room. We are then in 1951. A few years later, in 1962, the restaurant expands towards the neighboring house, followed by 6 beautiful bedrooms each with their own bathroom: very avant-garde for the time!

Book Now
Laurence and Jean-Baptiste Fagoaga - Arraya

Arraya was wildly successful from the start. It must be said that Paul Fagoaga and his brother Jean, renowned pelotaris, were very well known at the time!

In 1982, the Arraya boutique opened and it was Maité, Paul's cousin, who took the reins.Every year then, a new stone was brought to the building: the Fagoaga family's love for this house did not weaken. and is passed on to the next generation quite naturally.

Since 1995, Jean-Baptiste and Sébastien Fagoaga, the sons of Paul, have taken up the torch under the watchful eye of the previous generation of course! Accompanied by their wives, Laurence and Lorentxa. Arraya continues on its way while gradually entering the 21st century ...

In 2003 and 2006, the second floor of the hotel was completely renovated, the opening of the Privilege rooms.

In 2011, a new store was born: Akoka.

In 2015, the original building was somewhat shaken up: Arraya has an elevator! The garden is thus completely redesigned to give birth to terraces inviting relaxation in fine weather. The new amenities give birth to the very last rooms: Prestige…

In 2016: Obtaining the fourth star!

A warm and simple welcome from one of the family members awaits you: the quality of service has been at the heart of the tradition for 3 generations.

See you soon in the Basque Country!

Picture gallery

In order to allow you to imagine what your stay will be like, to feel the atmosphere of our establishment from now on, discover here some pictures of our hotel, of one of our rooms, of our restaurant, and of the idyllic environment in which we are in and which you can enjoy.

Traduction
French English Spanish Basque Japanese
Meilleur prix garanti
Réserver
Hôtel
Restaurant

Bien plus qu'un Hôtel...

Arraya a une âme : elle se voit, elle se sent, elle se vit !

Une maison basque

Bâti au 16ème siècle sur la place du village de Sare, Arraya est un ancien relais de Compostelle transformé en un hôtel de charme depuis 1951.
Il est tenu par la famille Fagoaga depuis 3 générations.
Formé de trois maisons très anciennes groupées autour d'un jardin qui échappe aux regards, Arraya occupe le centre de Sare, l'un des plus beaux villages du Pays Basque.
Dès l'entrée, de beaux salons et une ravissante salle à manger affichent un charme qui doit beaucoup à la patine des meubles et à l'éclat de bouquets de fleurs du jardin.

Réserver
tableau Basque
Jardin arrière de l'hôtel Arraya

Un écrin de verdure

Arraya est situé au centre de Sare, petit village entouré des montagnes et la nature. On retrouve aussi cette présence de nature au coeur de l'hôtel quipossède son petit écrin de verdure qui échappe aux regards : un jardin à l'anglaise

Composé de beaux massifs dans lesquels on retrouve différentes variétés d'arbustes : pittosporum forest blue, rincospernum, agapanthes, pittosporum naims et autres barberis, vous vous laisserez guider par l'escalier de chêne et d’ardoise pour y accéder.

Réserver

Amateurs de fragrances, vous serez conquis par le parfum subtil du jasmin étoilé qui recouvre ses belles terrasses du jardin lorsqu’il est en fleur. Sur les balcons, c’est la vigne vierge qui fait son spectacle !

A Arraya, la nature suit le rythme des saisons, fleurissent en leur temps arums, dahlias et près de 200 pieds de rosiers Queen Elisabeth… du printemps jusqu'à l'automne.

Le jardin était le projet de toute une vie pour Paul et Louise. Passionnée par les plantes et les fleurs, Louise a transmis tout son amour et son savoir-faire à Laurence, qui prend soin de faire perdurer la tradition en composant chaque jour de magnifiques bouquets de fleurs fraîches qui embaument le salon et la salle à manger de l’hôtel.

Une histoire de famille

Au Pays Basque, une maison ne s'approprie pas… elle se transmet d'une génération à l'autre et c'est dans cet esprit-là que les Fagoaga vous accueillent chez eux à l'Arraya, en partageant avec vous leur amour pour leur demeure.

L’aventure d’Arraya débute par l’histoire d’un frère et une sœur, Paul et Louise. Avec l’aide de leurs parents, ils transforment leur modeste maison en salon de thé. On est alors en 1951. Quelques années plus tard, en 1962, le restaurant s'agrandit vers la maison voisine, suivi de 6 belles chambres avec chacune leur salle de bain : très avant-gardiste pour l'époque !

Réserver
Laurence et Jean-Baptiste Fagoaga - Arraya

Arraya connut un succès fou dès le départ. Il faut dire que Paul Fagoaga et son frère Jean, pelotaris de renom, étaient très connus à l'époque !

En 1982, la boutique Arraya ouvre et c'est Maité, la cousine de Paul qui en prend les rênes.Chaque année alors, une nouvelle pierre est portée à l'édifice : l'amour de la famille Fagoaga pour cette maison ne faiblit pas et se transmet à la génération suivante tout naturellement.

Depuis 1995, Jean-Baptiste et Sébastien Fagoaga, les fils de Paul ont repris le flambeau sous l'œil attentif de la génération précédente bien-sûr ! Accompagnés de leurs épouses, Laurence et Lorentxa. Arraya poursuit son chemin tout en entrant petit à petit dans le 21ème siècle…

En 2003 et 2006, le second étage de l'hôtel est entièrement rénové, c’est l’ouverture des chambres Privilège.

En 2011, une nouvelle boutique voit le jour : Akoka.

En 2015, la bâtisse originelle est quelque peu bousculée : Arraya est doté d’un ascenseur ! Le jardin est ainsi entièrement repensé pour donner naissance à des terrasses invitant à la détente aux beaux jours. Les nouveaux aménagements donnent naissance aux toutes dernières chambres : Prestige…

En 2016 : Obtention de la quatrième étoile !

Un accueil tout en gentillesse et simplicité par l’un des membres de la famille vous attend : la qualité du service est au cœur de la tradition depuis 3 générations.

A bientôt au Pays Basque !

Galerie photos

Afin de vous permettre d'imaginer à quoi ressemblera votre séjour, de ressentir l'atmosphère de notre établissement dès maintenant, découvrez ici quelques clichés de notre hôtel, d'une de nos chambres, de notre restaurant, et de l'environnement idyllique dans lequel nous nous trouvons et dont vous pourrez profiter.